Daddy Duty

Sleep, Eat, Diaper Change. Repeat.

Happy (Belated) Mother’s Day!

on May 16, 2012

It goes without saying that the hardest, most selfless job in the world is to be a Mother. You can’t help but imagine a blue Super t-shirt being worn by all the moms in the world. Who knows how they do it, but thank goodness they do! I am most appreciative of my own mother as well as for Claire for being JJ’s mom and my incredible wife. These two ladies have made me the man I am today and I am forever grateful. I know there are women in your life that you feel the same way about. As such, a Mother’s Day is the smallest thing we can do to appreciate these special angels. A Mother’s year would be more apropos. Thank you, thank, you, thank you!

As for our Mother’s Day, it started with breakfast.  I had intended for breakfast in bed, but that’s impossible since we’re both up at an unGodly hour for JJ’s morning diaper change. While Claire got ready upstairs, JJ and I snuck away to the kitchen to make a feast. Before I go any further, I should explain that Claire is the chef in our family. I was taught long ago in an economics class that other people had a competitive advantage in cooking and that I should let them do it. It wasn’t economically sound to use my skills to cook when I had neither a forte, nor a passion for it resulting in wasted time and ingredients.

Nonetheless, today was her day and I needed to whip up a meal! So, I decided on a 3 layer Biscoff spread toast tower, a heart shaped egg, some smiling Chappel Hill sausage that my loving cousins sent me on request and some Hershey’s triple chocolate brownies. Dare I mention that I also attempted pancakes that unfortunately had a scone consistency instead of being pancake like? sans the pancakes, here’s the end result:

Image

I then figured I needed to have JJ involved in the festivities and proceeded to throw him into a shopping bag with a bow around him. I’m seriously having more fun with this than Anne Geddes. JJ’s such a trooper!

Image

We then called Claire down to share in our surprise and she was happy as ever to find her little man patiently waiting to be unwrapped. After trying my breakfast, we concluded that we should go to a real restaurant!  Hehe.  We decided to go to Baby Stacks to feast on their Red Velvet Pancakes, Lemon Ricotta Pancakes, Banana Cream Pancakes, Chicken Fried Steak and Huevos Rancheros.

Image

ImageImage

Red Velvet Pancakes!!!! They taste just like the cake, maybe even better.  They’re so good!!!

Image

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes were fantastic as well!

ImageBanana cream pancakes were good, but not as good as the other two.  If you’re at home and want awesome waffles or pancakes, try pouring Jello pudding on them while it’s hot and hasn’t cooled yet. Delish!


Image


Image

Despite my best efforts, I’d have to rate my own breakfast a 1 compared to Babystacks.  Stuffed and happy, we then proceeded to the Bellagio to look at the Tulips, watch the water fountain show and the Monet exhibit. All in all, it was a fantastic day shared with my loves!

On a side note, JJ has been so good lately. He’s sleeping well, smiling all of the time, and just happy, which in turn makes us happy. We are enjoying this age so much and almost wish it would never end. Teething, walking, and girlfriends are coming up and we’d rather just concentrate on savoring these moments. We’re snapping photos and videos left and right, but film just doesn’t do him justice.  He is the cutest little guy in the world!!!!!!!

One response to “Happy (Belated) Mother’s Day!

  1. Cin says:

    Awe. What a great story with pictures

Leave a Reply

