Daddy Duty

Sleep, Eat, Diaper Change. Repeat.

On Being Small

on May 8, 2012

I was giving JJ a bath the other night and couldn’t get over how incredibly happy he was to play in the water. I think he’d stay in his tub all day splishing and splashing if I let him. It’s truly remarkable when compared to the speed showers that adults do (1) to conserve water and (2) to get to the next thing on their to-do list. He could care less about taxes, a mortgage, insurance, blood pressure, cholesterol, cancer etc. He is so care-free and I love and appreciate it.

Then, when I took him out, I was reminded that despite all of his growth, I could technically wipe his whole body down with an absorbent face towel, not hand towel, face towel. Also, being small, his closet always looks empty despite his numerous outfits. I’d guess he has 50 outfits hanging in various sizes, but they hardly take up any room since they’re all so small. Furthermore, I can’t tell you how much baby lotion and shampoo I’ve mistakenly wasted when I squeeze out the adult sized squirts out of habit.

Another facet of being small is that you have an excuse for everything and people even find a lot of  your otherwise repulsive behavior enjoyable. His burps, farts, staring, at times rude interruptions, and sleep episodes mid-conversation are cute. Ahhh, the life of an infant.

It’s so cliche, but there are days Claire and I never want him to get any bigger. He’s at an age now where he’s curious and smiles, but lacks the mobility, skills, and energy to cause any damage.  It’s a ton of fun playing with him in spurts until he tuckers out and rests giving you a break. As we’ve seen with friends’ children and obviously anticipated, we have a wild ride ahead of us. From walking to running to jumping to driving, oh my, driving-tear, tear, it’s going to be a wild ride for sure.  Yet, such is life. As a parent, we obviously look forward to being with him for his first steps all the way to his globe-trekking, but there is something so beautiful at this age that I just wanted to notate it.

Today, JJ can officially roll and scoot himself around. We used to be able to put him on our bed and let him play by himself with minimal supervision. With his increased muscle strength and mobility, he can now move to the point where he’ll fall off the bed without supervision. This means that we won’t be getting any rest anytime soon. 🙂 We’ll be okay as long as he keeps smiling at us!

One more thing, regarding JJ’s smile, he loves to study other babies. So, if you have a baby, let’s hang out.  If you don’t have a baby, we can still hang out, but JJ may not be as interested in you. We fear he may be looking for a girlfriend! Also, have you heard of baby sign language? My good friend just told me about it. Basically, babies can sign before they can speak, so if you teach them to sign, they can “tell” you when they’re hungry etc. I don’t know much about it, but I can’t wait to learn.

Ok, one more last thing.  It’s teacher appreciation week. As my mom’s a retired teacher, I have a lot of respect respect for all teachers in whatever form they come in. It’s hard work and they deserve to be appreciated so do something nice for the teachers in your life. In case you didn’t know, money can buy happiness.  The twist is that you will be happiest when you use your money for other people according to this TED Talk. I completely agree!

Leave a Reply

