Daddy Duty

Sleep, Eat, Diaper Change. Repeat.

JJ’s First Friend

on January 29, 2012

One of my best friends and his wife just gave birth to their lovely baby boy, Trevor.  We are so happy for them and know they’ll be fantastic parents. They were kind enough to invite family and friends over to their house the day after birth and we were fortunate to be able to drop by today.

When we met Trevor, we were instantly transported back 7 weeks to when JJ had just arrived home with us. It was surreal to see how much JJ has grown in this short time and the difference between a newborn and a justborn. Their size was easy to compare as they had come into the world just 6 ounces apart. I will also admit being jealous at watching my friends put their son down for bed.  They simply put him down without a fight, cry, or whimper from the baby. Unless he’s very tired, JJ will try his best to continue to be held.

While there, we were asked if we had any “special” advice and I thought it’d be worth sharing with other new and future parents.

  • Cover the private part when changing the diapers.  All it takes is a split second to get sprayed. They happen to have a pee cover cup type thingie that made me laugh. We don’t have one and have gotten by with using an extra wipe.
  • How many wipes should you use when you change a diaper? AS MANY AS IT TAKES
  • Buy a wipe warmer.  It seems frivolous, but it saves many a cry in the middle of a Winter night.
  • Only fill the wipe warmer up half way. If you fill it to the top, the top ones don’t get very warm.
  • All diapers are not created equal.  We recentl tried a box of Babies R Us diapers and have been most disappointed with the amount of leaking and blow ups we’ve experienced.  I know I had written that I thought they were all the same, but I stand corrected. Too bad I have about 20 boxes of them (that’s probably about 1,500). We find them to be generally ok during the day, but prefer a “name” diaper during nighttime.
  • Get the best washer and dryer you can afford. I’m amazed at how much laundry we do. We just bought a new dryer for the new house because our old one was electric and the house is gas.  These machines are worth their weight in gold (maybe silver considering today’s prices).  I have no idea how people used to do this by hand.  Who has the time? Laundromats have a place in society, however, nothing beats the convenience of throwing a stack of soiled onesies into the washer, pressing  a button, and having them all clean and ready to get spit up on again in a flash.
  • We have a small library of baby care DVD’s that we purchased ranging from “The Happiest Baby on the Block” to Breastfeeding to First Aid to Baby Massage etc. I’m happy to share these with anyone near and far (I digitized them) so jsut drop me a message if you’re interested.
  • Place a new diaper under the old diaper when doing a diaper change. That way you can just slide the old one out and you’re set to wrap and go.
  • Babies are sturdy.  My friends were so gentle in changing Trevor’s diapers as we were when we started.  However, now that he squirms, kicks, and rolls, we literally resemble a pit crew as we “throw” his arms and legs into a new onesie.
  • Do what you want.  It’s your kid.  Don’t listen to anyone you don’t want to (includng me). Everyone wants to share their experience and they don’t mean you harm by telling you to do X, Y or Z.  However, there will be times you disagree.  In an effort to keep the peace, I’ve learned to just say “OK, I’ll try that, thanks for the advice” as my pat answer no matter how much I disagree (giving the baby water, wrapping the baby in 10 layers, ignoring the baby). I used to express my viewpoint immediately creating a point of contention unnecessarily. Knowing that my wife are the ones caring for our son, we use the best knowledge and throw out the worst.  It’s as simple as that.
Leave a Reply

