Daddy Duty

Sleep, Eat, Diaper Change. Repeat.

THANK YOU

on January 10, 2012

As busy as we are, I may not get a chance and may forget to let each of you know that we are very thankful and blessed for the love, thoughts, prayers, and gifts we have received from all of you. I just wanted to take a moment and thank you because we know we are truly lucky and very appreciative to have you in our lives. From the likes on Facebook to the emails to the visits to the baby tips and the toys, we are most fortunate. Thank you!

I also wanted to add that all of the parents who love and care for their children are amazing people. I can’t help but be amazed how generations of parents have sacrificed and given everything so that their children can have a better life than they did. Diaper changing, feeding, teaching, caring, and loving for a child are simultaneously the most exhausting and most rewarding experiences in life.

I admit to having judged other parents I have come across in the past for one reason or another in how they raised their children or how their children came out. However, I have a new found respect for them. As a parent now, I can see that all parents want is the best for their children. We may have different ways of achieving that, but this parental instinct is as natural as it comes in my book. I would literally move mountains, split rivers, lie, cheat, and steal if necessary to ensure my child’s safety and well-being. I get it.

I do need to make a special shout out to my own parents. Thank you. I know I tell you every Mother and Father’s Day and periodically throughout the year, but I appreciate you way more now that I’m a parent.  So many of your decisions make (somewhat) more sense now and I appreciate your love, effort, and care throughout my life. I apologize for past and future arguments and will try not to talk back to you. That said, I’ve got several videos for JJ showing him the pain and suffering Claire and I have endured in raising him his brief first month (sleeplessness, being peed on, being thrown up on, etc). If he ever, and I mean ever, raises his voice at us, he’s got another thing coming…J/K

I also need to especially thank my wife and JJ’s incredible mother.  I knew that you were an amazing woman, however, after seeing you through your pregnancy and now into motherhood, I can’t help but be floored at how lucky JJ and I are to have you in our lives. Your calm and confidence in knowing how to care for and love our son is inspiring, commendable, and oh so attractive.  I’m so fortunate you married me and allowed me the pleasure of being your husband and the father of our child. I look forward to many happy memories together raising our little Angel.

Leave a Reply

